November 3, 2020


Dear TWGGA Members and Members of the Texas Wine Industry:

Dacota Haselwood has stepped down as the Executive Director from Texas Wine and Grape Growers Association.

It is hard to believe that it has been two years since Dacota returned to serve TWGGA as our Executive Director, bringing much needed stability, past experience, and guidance to the position.

While 2020 has been riddled with upheaval and difficulty for our organization, and our membership, Dacota has no doubt left us in better shape than she found us. During the darkest and most uncertain times of this past year she worked and counseled our executive committee to find the best ways we could to serve and aid our members. Even when our best efforts did not avail, like the gladiator she is, Dacota went back into the arena with us again and again and again.

We wish Dacota well as she pursues new endeavors.

What is next for TWGGA?

First and foremost, the Executive Committee wants to assure you that the Association remains fully accessible and open for business. All Board Members continue to perform their duties of leading and supporting TWGGA members and the Texas Wine Industry. Most notably, our efforts remain focused on working with Governor Abbott and Open Texas Task Force to address and, hopefully reverse, the coalescing of Tasting Rooms with ‘bars’ as well as the formidable TABC workarounds to operate like a restaurant.

For those that may not know, Sabrina Houser Amaya has been serving since March as the primary point person for all incoming inquiries and questions to the Association. She also provides TWGGA’s social media and other communications important to the Association. If you have questions about your membership dues, accessing your membership portal in MemberClicks, website access to vendor/member directories or classified ad placements, etc., she can assist you. She can be reached directly at or 830/456-2787.

On Friday, November 6, 2020, the Executive Committee and Board of Directors are meeting for their regularly scheduled fourth quarter meeting. This meeting will focus much of its discussion on fulfilling the Executive Director position.

If you have questions or concerns, please feel free to reach out to any one on the Executive Committee.


Patrick Whitehead
Blue Ostrich Winery

Past President
Paul M Bonarrigo
Messina Hof Winery and Resort

President Elect
Roxanne Myers
Lost Oak Winery

Glena Yates
Spicewood Vineyards

Clark Hornbaker
Eden Hill Winery